Navigation Menu


Have you ever driven past a bank in your town, admired the daring cantilevered awning and wondered about the architect?  Or perhaps glimpsed a house through the trees that didn't look anything like its neighbors and were curious about how it came to be?  Architects in the mid-twentieth century defied tradition and experimented with color, form and materials to create the many fun, unusual and occasionally outlandish houses, banks, dry cleaners, hotels and schools that make up Mississippi's historic modernist landscape.


At times misunderstood when constructed, modernist buildings are now considered the “new historic”, with a whole new audience of enthusiastic building huggers awakening to the creative spirit that is embodied in modernism.  From the long, horizontal lines of the International Style employed in the 33rd Avenue School in Gulfport to the festival of fountains and screens that W.W. Easley used to create the whimsical Falk House in the Eastover neighborhood of Jackson, Mississippi has a wealth of modernist treasures just waiting to be explored.


MS MOD will feature essays, photographs and videos from architects, historians and homeowners, as well as information about fabulous mod events around the state.  Sign up for posts and get to know Mississippi's quirky, exuberant and oh so hip modernist masterpieces.

In the Mood for MOD?

Peruse musings from our MS MOD contributors by clicking the tabs above:

Robert Parker Adams

Jack Allin

Allison Anderson

Ellis Anderson

Lolly Barnes

Jennifer Baughn

John Beard

Janet Bordelon

Carter Burns

Jassen Callendar

Brad Cates

Claire Cothern

Eastover Foundation

Elizabeth Englebretson

Michael Fazio

Josh Hailey

John Hooks

Tom Howorth

Institute of Southern Jewish Life

Larry Jaubert

Landon Kennedy

John David Lewis

David Lewis

Chris Myers

Rachel Myers

Mississippi Power

Bill and Francine Luckett

MSU School of Architecture 5th Year Program

Mississippi Valley State

Johnny Olsen

Daria Pizzetta

Ken P’Pool

Brad Reeves

Dickie Roberts

Dana Robertson

Stuart Rockoff

Ligia Romer

Robert Saarnio

Mary Sanders

Erica Speed

Belinda Stewart Architects

Madison and Mark Talley

Bruce Tolar

Annette Vise

Casey Walker

D. Tracy Ward

Mary Margaret Miller White

Kathryn Wiener

Governor William Winter

Jessie Zenor


Stories will be added throughout 2016.  Want to contribute?  Drop us a line.